Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks

Ministère de l'Environnement, de la Protection de la nature et des Parcs

Office of the Minister

Bureau du ministre

777 Bay Street, 5th Floor Toronto ON M7A 2J3 Tel.: 416-314-6790 777, rue Bay, 5° étage Toronto (Ontario) M7A 2J3 Tél. : 416.314.6790



357-2021-3409

February 23, 2022

Ms. Jennifer Innis Chair, Toronto and Region Source Protection Authority 5 Shoreham Drive Toronto ON M3N 1S4 Mr. Douglas Wright
Chair, CTC Source Protection Committee
C/O Toronto and Region Source Protection
Authority
5 Shoreham Drive
Toronto ON M3N 1S4

Dear Ms. Innis and Mr. Wright:

It is a pleasure to inform you that the ministry has completed the review of the amended assessment report for the Toronto and Region Source Protection Area and source protection plan for the CTC Source Protection Region, developed in accordance with the *Clean Water Act, 2006*. To ensure that the quality and quantity of Ontario's municipal drinking water sources continue to be protected, I approve the amendments pursuant to section 34 of the *Clean Water Act, 2006*. These amendments will take effect on the day a notice of this decision is posted to Ontario's Environmental Registry.

The approval of these amendments does not make any changes to the order under section 36 of the *Clean Water Act, 2006* that governs the future review of the plan.

I appreciate the dedication of the local municipalities, source protection authorities and committees, and all our partners and stakeholders for their work and contributions to these amendments. Our strong protection framework will continue to help ensure Ontario's drinking water is held to high safety standards and that sources of drinking water in the province are protected for future generations.

Sincerely,

David Piccini

Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks

c: Janet Ivey, Chief Specialist, Watershed Plans and Source Water Protection, CTC Source Protection Region
Quentin Hanchard, Chief Administrative Officer, Credit Valley Conservation Authority

John MacKenzie, Chief Executive Officer, Toronto and Region Source Protection Authority

Kirsten Corrigal, Director, Conservation and Source Protection Branch, MECP Jennifer Moulton, Manager, Conservation and Source Protection Branch, MECP Angelune DesLauriers, Program Analyst, MECP Beth Forrest, Liaison Officer, MECP