Section I - Items for Board of Directors Action

TO: Chair and Members of the Board of Directors

Friday, January 29, 2021 Meeting

FROM: John MacKenzie, Chief Executive Officer

RE: APPOINTMENTS TO TORONTO AND REGION CONSERVATION

AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

City of Toronto

KEY ISSUE

The Secretary-Treasurer advises that seven appointees to Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA), representing the City of Toronto, have been duly appointed and are entitled to sit as members of this Board of Directors until the 2021 annual meeting, when all appointments for the period from the Annual Board of Directors Meeting for 2021 to the Annual Board of Directors Meeting for 2022 will be confirmed, unless a successor is appointed.

RECOMMENDATION

THAT Councillors Paul Ainslie, Shelley Carroll, Paula Fletcher, Mike Layton, Josh Matlow, James Pasternak and Anthony Perruzza be recognized as the City of Toronto members of Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA) until November 14, 2022 and until the successors are appointed, and as such are duly appointed and entitled to sit as members of this Board of Directors until the Annual Board of Directors Meeting scheduled to be held on February 26, 2021, or until their successor are appointed;

AND FURTHER THAT Councillor Cynthia Lai be thanked for her service.

BACKGROUND AND RATIONALE

At the Toronto City Council meeting on December 16, 17 and 18, 2020, Council approved the mid-term appointment of seven (7) Council appointees to TRCA for a term of office from January 1, 2021 to November 14, 2022 and until successors are appointed. Councillors Paul Ainslie, Shelley Carroll, Paula Fletcher, Mike Layton, James Pasternak and Anthony Perruzza were re-appointed to their previously held positions. Councillor Josh Matlow was appointed to replace Councillor Cynthia Lai on TRCA's Board of Directors.

Each year, at the annual meeting, the Secretary-Treasurer advises who is entitled to sit as members of the Board of Directors for the upcoming year. Due to the change in membership, such advisory needs to be provided at the January 29, 2021 meeting, to be effective until the Annual Meeting, scheduled to be held on February 26, 2021. As a result, the Secretary-Treasurer is advising that Councillors Paul Ainslie, Shelley Carroll, Paula Fletcher, Mike Layton, Josh Matlow, James Pasternak and Anthony Perruzza are duly appointed to sit as members of the Board of Directors, effective January 29, 2021.

Relationship to Building the Living City, the TRCA 2013-2022 Strategic Plan
This report supports the following strategy set forth in the TRCA 2013-2022 Strategic Plan:
Strategy 7 – Build partnerships and new business models

Item 7.1

Report prepared by: Alisa Mahrova, extension 5381 Emails: <u>alisa.mahrova@trca.ca</u> For Information contact: Alisa Mahrova, extension 5381

Emails: alisa.mahrova@trca.ca

Date: January 22, 2021