Section I – Items for Board of Directors Action

TO: Chair and Members of the Board of Directors Meeting #1/19, Friday, January 25, 2019

FROM: Chandra Sharma, Director, Watershed Strategies

RE: REGIONAL WATERSHED ALLIANCE

Appointment of TRCA Board of Directors members to the Regional Watershed Alliance

KEY ISSUE

To appoint five Board of Directors members (representing TRCA's member municipalities), following the 2018 municipal elections, as detailed in the Section 4.1.1. of the Regional Watershed Alliance Terms of Reference.

RECOMMENDATION

THAT the following TRCA Board of Directors members representing TRCA's member municipalities be appointed to the Regional Watershed Alliance (RWA) for the 2019-2021 term, or until their successors are appointed:

City of Toronto: Jennifer Drake Councillor Jennifer McKelvie

Region of Durham: Councillor Joanne Dies

Region of Peel: Councillor Jennifer Innis

Region of York: Councillor Jack Heath

AND FURTHER THAT Matt Mahoney and Jack Ballinger be thanked for their service to the RWA.

BACKGROUND

There are five TRCA Board of Directors positions identified in the Terms of Reference, representing the City of Toronto, regions of Durham, Peel and York, and the Township of Adjala-Tosorontio/Town of Mono.

At Authority Meeting #8/17, held on October 27, 2017, appointment of five Authority members to the Region Watershed Alliance was approved for the term of 2017 - 2021. Following the October 22, 2018 municipal elections, member municipalities have appointed new representatives to the TRCA Board of Directors (formerly referred to as Authority), affecting the composition of Regional Watershed Alliance and warranting appointment of the new members.

Five members are recommended, with two representatives from the City of Toronto, as the Adjala-Tosorontio/Mono representative has transferred their position to the City of Toronto at

the Authority Meeting #8/17, held on October 27, 2017. Additionally, two above-mentioned municipalities made appointments at the local municipal or staff level and thus are represented on the committee.

Report prepared by: Alisa Mahrova, extension 5381 Emails: <u>alisa.mahrova@trca.on.ca</u> For Information contact: Chandra Sharma, extension 5237 Emails: <u>chandra.sharma@trca.on.ca</u> Date: January 18, 2019